District Elections

On April 12, 2022, the City of Fontana City Council adopted Resolution No. 2022-023 modifying the four (4) districts within Fontana. This was done through the redistricting process, required after the 2020 U.S. Census. 
In 2017, the City of Fontana City Council passed two resolutions establishing and implementing by-district elections for City Council members.
  • Resolution of Intention (PDF) - Outlines the creation of four City Council Election Districts, with the position of the Mayor to be elected at large.

2022 Adopted District Map 

Click on the map below to find the district you are located in.

Final Map - Adoption April 12

Election Sequence

The Fontana City Council adopted Resolution No. 2022-023, amending a district map following the 2020 Census. Voting by district to commence as follows:

  • District 1 - November 2022
  • District 2 - November 2024
  • District 3 - November 2024
  • District 4 - November 2022

This means that starting in November 2018, individuals that reside in districts 1 and 4 would only be able to vote for one city council seat to represent their district, in contrast to the at-large system that allowed voters to vote for all seats up for election. The mayor, city clerk, and treasurer will continue to be elected at large.